federalnumber.com
OK, I’m a dumbass. A dumbass in a hurry. I needed a Federal Employer Identification Number, for which you can apply for free online. Problem is, the site doesn’t work with Firefox, at least Firefox 1.5.0.4 in Linux. But I didn’t know that at the time, I just thought the online process didn’t work.
A workaround? One of the Google Adwords advertisers who bid on “EIN” was federalnumber.com, who claims to be able to get you an EIN in minutes for a fee. Now, I know that the IRS allows an agent to apply for an EIN on your behalf. So, I figured, what the site would do would be to collect your information, collect your money, then submit it to the IRS as your agent, using a compatible user-agent or API. And surely they wouldn’t charge you if they couldn’t successfully retrieve your EIN. Reasonable, if you’re in a hurry.
Wrong, wrong, wrong. The whole site is a scam. The site just charges you, then prints out what you entered with the main number for the IRS to call and arrange to get your EIN. The site is run by one Alexander Kleyman, formerly of Forest Hills, NY and now apparently of Hallandale Beach, FL. He’s been arrested for a similar scam in the past, that time against the Social Security Administration. Interestingly, however, the registrant information in the whois entry for the domain lists what appears for all the world to be a residential condo address. So I may actually have his home address. If you’re interested, it is 1850 South Ocean Drive #3504, Hallandale Beach, FL, 33009.
He gave a contact phone, and my call at midnight went to an answering service with a real live person. I’ve requested a refund, but fat chance of that happening, so I’ve also contacted the bank that issued my credit card for a chargeback. When I was last scammed online, I had to have a document notarized, which cost something like $15, but it’s going to be worth it just to spite Fuckhead Alex. Fuckhead Alex with my social security number and credit card info. As I said, I’m a dumbass. And haste precedes fuckups. I could have done the scam research first. So keep a couple things in mind. There are a lot, a lot of fuckheads like Al out there, and a lot lot lot of them advertise on Adwords. The Google don’t-be-evil thing doesn’t extend to its advertisers. And if you see on the news that A-Kley gets run over by a commuter tram in Florida, keep in mind that he had it coming. If only the universe really worked that way.


















September 17th, 2006 at 1:35 am
Good grief, they’re honest crooks! They called me back and refunded my money!
I’m calling off the communter trams now.
April 5th, 2007 at 2:27 am
Thanks for posting this! I was just on their site, and got to the payment screen. I thought it was funny that it said I will be charged $20, not $10 like the home page touted. So I started looking around for Contact info. Couldn’t find it. I did a whois - looks like he switched over to a service called Shielded Whois. HA! Then I did a search and found your page. I’m so glad I never filled out the payment screen, but like you said - dumbass has my SSN now.. Hopefully he isn’t smart enough to put that in a database. I can’t believe his site is still up after all this time!
August 1st, 2007 at 12:06 pm
thanks for sharing your experience. i was in a rush too but somehow i end up reading you and thanks….. you really helped me out.
June 10th, 2008 at 10:15 pm
Its funny to me when people make accusations about other people without any proof of any kind, it shows a complete lack of intelligence, and threatening people who work at a company is even more ridiculous. I know that site very well, no negative experiences at all, and i know people that have worked there. if you have a problem paying for a service then you shouldn’t use it, instead of insulting someone for providing a service, it doesn’t say on the site that they are the only site to use. in every industry you will always find things cheaper, more expensive, or free, its your job to find what suits you best and then use it. Calling someone a crook because you couldn’t operate their site just makes you sound stupid. You may wonder why I take such offense to this, well, I’ve been in that position because of the same ignorance, and I will always feel for someone who gets treated like this for no reason, actually you are lucky you didn’t get sued for slander and threatening someone the way you did. Next time you may want to rethink your actions, before you judge some one without knowing them. because the same person that you have been insulting, actually volunteers in his community, helps the homeless, donates money to charities, and brings toys to sick children in hospitals, i know the people that have gone with him to bring toys to the children. yea, really.. such a monster.. please……. talk about getting your facts wrong, and not checking your information……. there should be more people like him……what do you do for your community?
June 11th, 2008 at 1:22 am
Oh, can it, allie (or “sexyhazl”, if you prefer.)
Alex’s site says he will provide a registration number, online, for someone who pays for his services. He doesn’t. He fills out the exact same PDF that is available on the IRS site and tells you to call the IRS. He’s slime, allie. I don’t give a fuck if he adopts puppies and cured polio. He’s a liar and a crook. There’s the fucking proof. I’ll give you a bonus round to read the post again to figure that out.
What do I do for my community? Plenty. Such as, allie, pointing out fucking scams like this.
If you are hell-bent on judging me poorly solely because your friend brings toys to hospitals, I’ll give you the email of Brandi, cousin of JCO (read that, don’t be lazy) and you Southern Chicks can have a cybernetic soixante-neuf about how thieves and murderers deserve sanction because of all their warm and fuzzy quality.
If you want Brandi’s email, let me know. If not, fuck off.
June 21st, 2008 at 12:26 pm