105700657995304426

Newspapers have been having fun with the name of the Web site set
up by the British energy firm PowerGen, which is investing in Italy
and has created the wonderful www.powergenitalia.com (it is a real
Web site, I can confirm, though not always easy to access).  But you
might prefer instead www.crotch-partnership.co.uk, which isn’t what
you’re thinking it is, unless you know it’s a firm of solicitors in
Norwich.  Another odd one is http://www.whorepresents.com, at which
you can find an actor’s representative.

                                - Michael Quinion, World Wide Words, Issue 347 (Saturday 28 June 2003)

Note added 09 July 2003: Michael Quinion has issued a correction to this bulletin, as has a mcgees.org reader.  PowerGen has nothing to do with the powergenitalia site, which is rather associated with an Italian firm selling specialized battery products.  More information at Snopes.

Your ad here for US$1/month.  Find out how.


Leave a Reply, but read first

  1. Feel free to leave replies even to very old posts.
  2. You have pretty much free rein to write whatever you like.  Just make it contentful and it will probably stay, even if you are abusing me.  Just:
  3. Don't bother spamming.  Your links are automatically tagged "nofollow".  You won't increase your Google rating.  Nobody will click them anyway.  Save us both some time.
  4. Advertising Policy: The URL field is for personal blogs, not commercial enterprises.  Have a valid website or product to advertise?  Those do get clicked, and it's cheap.  Click here to advertise.  Otherwise, your URL is subject to deletion at editor's discretion.